MD/DE/WV SCBWI summer conference

Thanks to all of you who joined me at this year’s MD/DE/WV SCBWI summer conference at McDaniel College in Westminster. It was a pleasure to be with you and share in the event this past weekend!

Patrick Collins 001_July-09Some of the highlights for illustrators: Patrick Collins, Creative Director at Henry Holt explained how a picture book is created, from sketches to dummy to finished pages. He showed us how multiple versions of a book jacket design are considered and revised before the final one is chosen, an exhaustive process, indeed!

 

 

 

 

 

Patrick also gave eleven critiques, and it was reported to me that they were very helpful, as was my own.Patrick Collins & Jeannie Wogoman

 

 

 

It was instructive to learn how Atheneum Executive Editor Namrata Tripathi and author/illustrator Lita Judge work together. Lita showed photos of her studio in Peterborough, NH and told us about the path she took to become a picture book illustrator. She also related the stories that inspired and the research she did for the books she’s written and illustrated, One Thousand Tracings and Pennies For Elephants.

At lunch on Saturday some of the illustrators attending sat with Patrick Collins, and he discussed some of the workshops he has participated in, giving me great ideas for future events.

I gave a breakout session presentation on Sunday about the process I went through in illustrating One Wolf Howls by Scotti Cohn, which was published by Sylvan Dell this past spring.   http://www.sylvandellpublishing.com/Wolf.php

It was a surprise to me when our new MD/DE/WV SCBWI Regional Advisor, Edie Hemingway asked me to sit on the Q & A panel at the end of the conference — I am not one to be shy about my experiences or opinions, but I do feel like a relative novice in the publishing world. Lita Judge had to leave a bit early, and so I represented illustration.

I learn at each one of these conferences, and I always go away with a renewed desire to create! I sincerely appreciate the camaraderie and inclusiveness of the SCBWI; everyone is made to feel a sense of belonging, at whatever level of achievement.

Susan Detwiler Illustrator Coordinator MD/DE/WV SCBWI

~ by mdpictureit on July 27, 2009.

 
