More about Debbie Flood & Painting a Child a Day

comforting-the-puppy-quick-e-mail-viewComforting a Puppy, by Debbie Flood
Debbie wrote:
“In thinking about the fast paced world of publishing and illustrating, I began to feel anxious and wondered if I could handle the deadlines, even though I know I can produce work quickly. So, Painting a child a day was born. I knew this would keep me focused, Help me with any anatomy issues and color issues. I enjoy painting the children with watercolors and it would give me a great inventory to offer to my collectors.”
Debbie just recently entered the Children’s Publishing field.  Her book, Children and Their 4-Legged Friends: a Series of Watercolor Paintings and Poems  was reviewed by Linda T. Snider Ward in the Spring 2009 Issue of Once Upon a Tme magazine. 
bookscan-quick-e-mail-view1
She continued:

I self published the book through Blurb.com. The book is 8 x 10 with 36 pages. 40 paintings & 14 poems. The paintings were all created of children with horses from the years that I have been joining local horse shows, here in Maine, setting up my booth and painting portraits. I collected the reference images with my own camera, or images the families gave me for portraits. I also have included paintings of myself and family members, as children, with horses.
I have a deep connection with horses from my childhood, and being around the kids at horse shows, I could see that I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. The purpose of that series & the book is to enlighten those feelings, connections and spirit between a horse and a child, and the fact that it doesn’t go away when we are Adults. It has been a very powerful and moving/emotional project for me and I am hoping that comes through when people read the poems and view the art, especially with their children.
The book can be ordered from my website http://www.debfloodart.com or on the Blurb.com site through links on my website.

~ by mdpictureit on April 19, 2009.

 
