Painting a Child a Day

http://paintingachildaday.blogspot.com

Robyn wrote, “Debbie Flood, of the New England SCBWI is doing a painting of a child  a day. What a brilliant idea! Wonder if we could do a something a day. 
We’d have 365 paintings at the end of the year! Or we could do a  weaker “weekly” one.  Sorry, couldn’t resist the pun. 🙂

~ by mdpictureit on April 9, 2009.

3 Responses to “Painting a Child a Day”

  1. San Francisco Illustrator Kazu Sano had mentioned his “design a day” – where he would just throw marks on a page in a aesthetically pleasing manner. He would then post this on his refrigerator, looking long and hard through the day – beginning to pull forms, faces or architecture out of the marks… these would often become the basis for finished pieces. He feels that the mark making is more intuitive and less of a “composition”. Likewise, illustrator Robert Hunt (dreamworks kid with fishing pole) has a 40 minute painting per day goal… no less, no longer – timer goes off, it’s done. Both are great ideas and methods. I hope to apply something similar to my daily routine.

  2. Hi Karen Jo!
    Wow, thank you so much for writing this little blurb about my project! I used to do a painting a week, which involved larger paintings, mostly Equine, Canine, or related with kids too. I’ve been wanting to break into the world of illustrating for Children’s books and thought about the faced paced time frame of publishers and thought this project will either make me or break me!
    Thanks again everyone!
    Debbie Flood

  3. Wow! I admire Flood’s discipline. I wonder if I could do such a thing if I decided to time it like sketching a model?

Comments are closed.

 
